Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Jennifer Davis Elected Captain for 2017-2018 Season

Jennifer Davis '18
Jennifer Davis '18


NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Rising senior Jennifer Davis has been elected captain of the Yale women's squash team for the 2017-2018 season, as announced at the 2017 Women's Squash Banquet.

"Jen is a seasoned three year letter winner who will be a strong captain.  She has the luxury of three other experienced seniors and the four of them will be strong leaders for next year's team," said head coach Dave Talbott. "Jen plays extremely hard and at an intensity level that is her benchmark. Jen's assets will translate well as the 2017-18 Captain."

Rising seniors Jocelyn Lehman, Selena Maity and Ashley Suan will join Davis in leading next year's team.

The banquet also recognized the contributions of this year's graduating class of Shiyuan Mao, Jenny Scherl and Madeline Tomlinson. The trio led the Bulldogs to a 12-6 record and a sixth-place finish at the Howe Cup this past season. Coach Talbott honored the seniors in a recent statement to the Yale squash community, saying "These three women have been terrific role models for all student-athletes at Yale.  Finding their passions in the classroom, being engaged in the community, and achieving their goals on the court make all three of them huge winners in their four years at Yale Squash.  We could not be more proud of them."

Several year-end recognition awards were also announced at the banquet.

Mao, the departing captain, earned the John Blum Award, given to "the player who through her leadership has made the most significant contribution to the team."

Scherl won the Most Valuable Player Award. Scherl played the top spot for the Bulldogs this season and was also an All-Ivy selection and first team All-American.

Tomlinson earned the Coach's Special Award for "the player who demonstrated the greatest sportsmanship and determination."

Rising junior Emily Sherwood received the Hunt Welch Award, given to the most improved player.

Report by Nick Sehlinger '17, Yale Sports Publicity