Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Wins 6th Straight Carnegie Cup

Evan Ellis image
Evan Ellis image

Elis Remains Undefeated After Dual Season


DERBY, Conn. – For the sixth straight year, the Carnegie Cup remains at the Gilder Boathouse as the Yale Heavyweight Crews remained undefeated. Today's wins over Princeton and Cornell were the Bulldogs' final races before the championship season.


The reigning national champion 1V got things started in the 7:30 a.m. contest, a fast race that had the Elis finishing about four seconds ahead of Princeton. The other races were also tight.


For the seniors, the contest was bittersweet. It was their final race at home. The graduating seniors are: Angus Morrison (captain), Charlie Elwes, Seth Bartlett, Jack Palmer, Alex Lindsay,

Lucas Pilert, Andrew Joyce, Tommy Fant, Louis Abrassard, Peter Zablocki, Forest Simpson, and Nicholas Religa.


Princeton last won the Carnegie Cup in 2013 and Cornell last won in 2012. The Cup record currently stands at Princeton (38), Cornell (30), and Yale (25). The Carnegie Cup was dedicated in 1921. The cup is awarded to the winner of the first varsity race.


Yale next races at the EARC Sprints on Sunday, May 19, in Worcester, Mass., and seeks its fifth straight Eastern championship.





Yale – 5:10.0

Princeton – 5:14.7

Cornell – 5:20.7



Yale – 5:17.7

Princeton – 5:18.1

Cornell – 5:31.4



Yale – 5:19.9

Princeton – 5:23.6

Cornell – 5:43.3



Yale – 5:24.2

Princeton – 5:26.3

Cornell – 5:40.9



Yale – 5:25.0

Yale 6V – 5:31.9

Princeton – 5:45.3




1- Orlando Nixon

2- Andrin Gulich

3- Matteo Sandrelli

4- Jack Lopas

5- Thomas Digby

6- Charlie Elwes

7- Leonard Jenkins

8- Daniel Williamson

Coxswain- Vlad Saigau



1- Nick Rusher

2- Jonathan Winter

3-  Garth Holden

4- Liam Galloway

5- Fergus Hamilton

6- Thomas Beck

7- Angus Morrison (captain)

8- Henry Kamp

Coxswain- Woods Connell



1- Alex Jeremijenko

2- Daire Lynch

3- Jack Morton

4- Thomas Bischoff

5- Miles Beeson

6- Freddie Elwes

7- Will Powers

8- Nikola Bakoc

Coxswain- Thomas Fant



1- Jack Webber

2- Seth Bartlett

3-  Noah Norman

4-  Archie McChesney

5-  Will Acken

6- Bobby Jahrling

7- Alex Lindsay

8- Lucas Peilert

Coxswain- Katherine Hofmann



1- Magruder Dent

2- Peter Zablocki

3-  Edgar Staunton

4- Jack Palmer

5- Patrick Craig

6-  Nicholas Helms

7-  Rudd Fawcett

8- Jens Odegard

Coxswain- Sonya Gladstone