Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

America’s Oldest Intercollegiate Athletics Contest is Saturday

(photo by Joel Furtek)
(photo by Joel Furtek)

154th YH Regatta



GALES FERRY, Conn. – America's oldest intercollegiate athletic event, the rowing race between Yale and Harvard, takes place for the 154th time this Saturday on the Thames River. The three races of the Yale-Harvard Regatta, a truly unrivaled experience, begin at 12:45 and can be seen on ESPN+.



The two-mile, third varsity race is set for 12:45, while the 2V, three-miler should be about 1:30. The plan for the four-mile first-varsity event is a 2:30 start.



The famous race runs upstream again this year on the Thames River, which splits New London and Groton. All three races finish at the same place, Bartlett's Cove on the New London side of the river. The 1V race starts under the Gold Star Memorial Bridge (I-95), passes Connecticut College and the Coast Guard Academy from a distance before coming closer to the docks of the submarine base on the opposite side of the river and then heading toward the two camps.



Yale (18:51.0) beat Harvard (18:58.9) by three boat lengths in the 1V portion of the regatta a year ago. The 1V, 2V, and combo boat all triumphed over the Crimson, while the Elis' 3V fell short by about a boat length.



The Bulldogs had about a 5-second edge over the Crimson on Lake Natoma at the IRAs last week. The two met at Eastern Sprints a week before with Yale close to 6 seconds better.



Yale has not lost to Harvard since 2014, but the 2016 race was called a "no contest." The current streak is at two races or four years. The first meeting, which was the first collegiate athletic contest, was an 1852 race on Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire. The Crimson leads the overall series 95-57.



The Elis, ranked No. 1 in the nation all spring, have had another remarkable season. The varsity had its fifth straight undefeated dual season, its fifth consecutive Eastern Sprints victory – including a second straight Rowe Cup for overall supremacy - and won the IRA National Championship for a third year in a row.




1- Orlando Nixon

2- Andrin Gulich

3- Matteo Sandrelli

4- Jack Lopas

5- Thomas Digby

6- Charlie Elwes

7- Leonard Jenkins

8- Daniel Williamson

Cox- Vlad Saigau



1- Garth Holden

2- Daire Lynch

3- Miles Beeson

4- Henry Kamp

5- Fergus Hamilton

6- Liam Galloway

7- Angus Morrison (Captain)

8- Thomas Beck

Cox- Thomas Fant 



1- Nick Rusher

2- Jonathan Winter

3- Will Acken

4- Thomas Bischoff

5- Jack Morton

6- Freddie Elwes

7- Will Powers

8- Nikola Bakoc

Cox- Woods Connell



1-  Edgar Staunton

2- Seth Bartlett

3-  Alex Lindsay

4-  Archie McChesney

5-  Noah Norman

6- Bobby Jahrling

7-  Jack Webber

8- Lucas Peilert

Cox- Katherine Hofmann



 Contact: Steve Conn, Yale Athletics Communications –