Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gladstone Named EARC Coach of the Year

Joel Furtek '90 image
Joel Furtek '90 image

National Champions Get Crew of the Year Honors


BOSTON, Mass. – The Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC) announced the recipients   of the league's postseason awards. Steve Gladstone and Yale's Varsity Eight were named Heavyweight Coach and Crew of the Year for the second-straight year.

The awards were voted on by the EARC coaching contingency.

Yale's Varsity Eight captured heavyweight crew of the year honors after racing to a first-place  finish at Sprints and defeating rival, Harvard University, by nearly six seconds The victory marked the fifth consecutive first-place finish in the heavyweight eight for the Elis.

Gladstone was named EARC Men's heavyweight coach of the year after leading Yale to an impressive performance at Sprints. The team earned the Rowe Cup, awarded to the best overall performances across the varsity eight, second varsity eight and third varsity eight events. This was the third-straight Rowe Cup for Yale and the fourth consecutive coach of the year award for Gladstone.