Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gladstone, Yale IV Take IRA Honors

Joel Furtek '90 image
Joel Furtek '90 image

12 Elis Get Academic Awards


BOSTON, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) announced the recipients of the regatta's postseason awards. The member coaches of the Association selected all three national champion crews and coaches as the respective Coaches and Crews of the Year.


For the heavyweights it was Yale's Varsity Eight and Steve Gladstone taking home the honors. The Eli crew and coach swept the heavyweight awards after taking home gold for the third straight year in the Varsity Eight Grand Final. The Bulldogs crossed the line at 5:32.939 to successfully defend the Varsity Challenge Cup.


For Gladstone, Yale's Craig W. Johnson '68 Head Coach, it was his third Coach of the Year nod in 2019 after being honored by his Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC) peers and fellow Ivy League Coaches earlier this spring. The varsity eight win marks Gladstone's 14th IRA national title as a head coach, which places him in a tie with legendary Cornell coach, Charles Courtney, for most ever won by a single coach.


The IRA also announced its All-Academic Team for the 2018-19 academic year. To be eligible for recognition a student-athlete must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.35 or higher, completed one full year at their institution, be an institutional letter winner and also competed at the 2019 IRA National Championship Regatta.


Here are the Yale recipients.


Andrin Gulich

Angus Morrison

Frederick Elwes

Garth Holden

Leonard Jenkins

Matteo Sandrelli

Orlando Nixon

Thomas Digby

Thomas Fant

Vlad Saigau

William Powers

Woods Connell



contact: Steve Conn, Yale Athletics Communications -