No. 2 Lightweights Ready for EARC Sprints

Yale Varsity (photo courtesy of Row2k)
Yale Varsity (photo courtesy of Row2k)

Live Stream

Heats Schedule

Finals Schedule

NEW HAVEN , Conn. - This Sunday, the No. 2 Yale lightweight crew team will travel to Worcester, Mass., to compete in the 68th Eastern Sprints Regatta. At stake is not only the EARC title, but also the Ivy League Championship, as well as a berth in the IRA National Championship for the top eight finishers. The lightweights will have had three weeks to prepare and improve since their last competition, the HYP regatta.

The four Yale crews will race in heats in the morning, with the top three boats from each heat advancing to the grand final. The varsity, second varsity and first freshmen crews will also accumulate points towards the Jope Cup, awarded for overall team supremacy. After winning the trophy last year, Yale will look to hold on to it for the second straight year.

The Yale third varsity eight will be the first boat to compete on the day. The boat enters the race ranked fourth and will race against Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth and Navy in its heat at 8:36 a.m. It will look to avenge its loss to Cornell from the regular season.

The first freshman eight is coming off a one-loss season and is currently ranked second. At the HYP regatta, the freshmen took down Harvard and Princeton. The boat's only loss came against Penn. The freshmen will race against Cornell, Dartmouth and Georgetown in their heat at 9:36 a.m.

The second varsity eight will comes into the event ranked fourth and will look to improve on its seeding. The boat will look to avenge its loss to Harvard and Princeton at the HYP regatta. The second varsity will race against Columbia, Dartmouth, Harvard and Penn in its heat at 10:12 a.m.

In the varsity race, the No. 2 Yale boat will get its second shot at No. 1 Harvard. At the HYP regatta, Yale held the lead for the first half of the race, but ultimately fell to Harvard by 1.4 seconds. The Bulldogs will square off against Dartmouth, Navy, Penn and Princeton in their heat at 11:48 a.m.

Racing will begin at 7:56 AM.

Live video of the event can be found here.

The schedule of events is as follows:

8:26 a.m.        3V Heat #1 (Cornell, Yale, Columbia, Dartmouth, Navy 4V)
9:36 a.m.         1F Heat #2 (Yale, Cornell, Dartmouth, Georgetown)
10:12 a.m.       2V Heat #1 (Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Dartmouth, Penn)
11:48 a.m.       1V Heat #2 (Yale, Princeton, Dartmouth, Penn, Navy)
1:36 p.m.         3V Grand Final
2:36 p.m.         1F Grand Final – The Gary W. Kilpatrick Cup
3:36 p.m.         2V Grand Final – The Cornell Trophy
5:30 p.m.         1V Grand Final – The Joseph Wright Trophy

Report filed by Yale Sports Publicity