Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Lightweight Varsity Qualifies for Grand Final

Yale's first varsity eight. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)
Yale's first varsity eight. (photo by Sam Rubin '95, Yale Sports Publicity)

FOLSOM, Calif. – Yale's goal to finish top three to secure a spot in Sunday's grand final for the varsity eight was met in an extremely tight race Friday at IRAs. The lightweights finished second behind Cornell in the morning's heat with a time of 5:49.2. The Elis began with an aggressive start, jumping ahead of the pack early on. Despite Cornell's moves in the second half of the race, a steady effort ultimately kept the Elis just 1.4 seconds behind the Big Red and well ahead of third-place Navy and fourth-place Georgetown.

Conditions on Lake Natoma were relatively flat for the varsity eight's heat. Yale will move on to the grand final Sunday against Cornell, Princeton, Columbia, Penn and Navy to compete for the title of 2019 National Champions.

The straight four finished fifth in their heat against a strong field with a time of 6:26.5. They will race the petite final Sunday against Cornell, Columbia and Georgetown.

After battling it out in tightly packed first thousand, the coxed four finished fourth in their heat with a time of 6:40.8. They will proceed to the petite final Sunday against Harvard and Dartmouth.

Full results can be found here.

Sunday finals will be live streamed here.

Schedule of Sunday Finals:
Lightweight Four (w/o coxswain) Petite Final: 8:10 a.m. Pacfific Time
Lightweight Four (w/ coxswain) Petite Final: 8:50 a.m. Pacfific Time
Lightweight Eight Grand Final: 10:56 a.m. Pacfific Time

Varsity Eight: 
Duncan Moore '20 Morse
Trutz von Warburg '21 Branford
Brian O'Donnell '20 Silliman
Matthew Jones '19 Trumbull
James Patterson '22 Timothy Dwight
Geoff Skelly '21 Jonathan Edwards
John McDonald '22 Silliman
James Ash '20 Saybrook
Nicolai Parks '19 Trumbull

Coxed Four: 
Gabi Seo '20 Berkeley
Alexander Waller '22 Saybrook
Eric Elftmann '21 Saybrook
Jamie Sudlow '22 Pauli Murray
Gavin Boyd-Goodrich '20 Timothy Dwight

Coxless Four:
Raymond O'Mahony '19 Pierson
Simon Sharp '19 Branford
Matthew Matejka '19 Pierson
Nicholas Matthes '19 Silliman

Quentin Geczy '20 Trumbull
Seth Moyer '22 Morse
Charlie Markert '21 Jonathan Edwards