Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Nicholas, Zinsner Earn All-Ivy Honors, Sheehan Named Coach of Year

(Nina Lindberg photo)
(Nina Lindberg photo)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Coming off a third-place finish at the 2019 Ivy League Championship, the Yale men's golf team placed a pair of players on the First Team All-Ivy lineup including senior and captain James Nicholas, who was named the 2019 Ivy League Player of the Year. In addition, their head coach, Colin Sheehan '97, earned Ivy League Coach of the Year accolades. 

Nicholas was the medalist at the Ivy Championship after carding a two-under, 215 to top the 40-player field, adding to his individual victories at the Borsodi Student Championship, Doc Gimmler and Macdonald Cup.

"I'm very proud to see James recognized unanimously as the Player of the Year," Sheehan said. "He had one of the most sensational years in the history of the Ivy League during the modern era. James had the eighth lowest stroke average in the nation, which is nearly unthinkable for a player from the northeast, let alone from an Ivy League student majoring in Biology. He has been a conscientious student athlete who led the team by example and inspired his teammates to play their best golf in what was a record-setting season for the team."

Sophomore Teddy Zinsner also earned a spot on the first-team All-Ivy squad for the second consecutive season after he tied for third at Hidden Creek with a five-over, 218. Zinsner's season included top-10 finishes at the Doc Gimmler, Cornell Invitational, Old Town Club Collegiate Invitational, Furman Intercollegiate and Princeton Invitational.  

*James Nicholas, Yale (Sr., Scarsdale, N.Y.) 
Max Ting, Princeton (Fr., Atherton, Calif.) 
Colin Sheehan, Yale
James Nicholas, Yale (Sr., Scarsdale, N.Y.) 
Evan Quinn, Princeton (Jr., Morristown, N.J.) 
Teddy Zinsner, Yale (So., Alexandria, Va.) 
Sam Clayman, Princeton (So., Dallas, Texas)
Mitchell Cornell, Penn (So., Incline Village, Nev.) 
Tianyi Cen, Cornell (Sr., Guangzhou, China) 
Daniel Core, Columbia (Fr., Sorrento, Fla.) 
Max Ting, Princeton (Fr., Atherton, Calif.) 
Jason Liu, Dartmouth (So., Windsor, Conn.) 
Grant Fairbairn, Harvard (So., Orinda, Calif.) 
John Robertson, Columbia (So., Cincinnati, Ohio) 
Sam Ohno, Dartmouth (So., Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.)
*Unanimous Selection
^Second Team Expanded Due to Tie at Ivy League Men's Golf Championship

Report filed by Joey Kamm '20, Yale Sports Publicity –