Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bulldogs to Take on Dartmouth and Columbia

Kyle Macauley, Phil Zuccaro, Vincent Vaugns and Alex Young (left to right).
Kyle Macauley, Phil Zuccaro, Vincent Vaugns and Alex Young (left to right).

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's track and field team will be traveling to The Armory in New York Friday for the Yale-Dartmouth-Columbia tri-meet. Every year, this meet marks the return to competition for the Bulldogs following winter recess, and provides quality intra-conference matchups five weeks away from Ivy Heps.

Friday's meet is scheduled to begin at 12:00 p.m., with the weight throw, featuring Jack Dunn and Andrew Rochon. Rochon placed fifth in this event last year. Also at noon will be the long jump with Darius Jing and Jimmy Shih; Jing will be competing in his second meet of the season, whereas Shih is the returning champion in this event. Shih will continue his day with the triple jump at 1:30 p.m., which he was also victorious in last year.

The remainder of the field events will take place at 2:00 p.m., which will include the shot put, pole vault and high jump. Rochon is the lone Bulldog in the shot put, in which he finished fifth last year, but with two athletes ahead of him having graduated, he is the third returner in the event. Austin Laut will be taking on a stiff field in the pole vault after having narrowly finished runner-up in last year's contest. Rounding out the field events will be Cody Clements, CJ McCord and Spencer O'Neill ready for liftoff in the high jump. O'Neill and Clements placed second and third, respectively, in this event last year. McCord is coming off a school record-breaking performance in December at the Yale Season Opener.

The men's action will continue on the track at 12:50 p.m., with Kyle Macauley, Vincent Vaughns, Alex Young and Phil Zuccaro in the 60m dash trials. The fastest event on the track is also one of the Bulldogs' most dominant, and it showed last year at this meet when Vaughns and Macauley finished first and second, respectively. The finals for the 60m dash will take place at 1:35 p.m., after the mile run. Zach Capello, Hugh Sadler, Allen Siegler and Harrison Smith will toe the line at 1:00 p.m., for the mile, an event that always produces an exciting race at this meet. Look out for Siegler, especially, as the mile is his forte on the track. 

At 1:40 p.m., Connor Hill will kick off a series of middle distance events with the 400m. Fergal Burnett Small and Jackson Chapman will follow in the 500m at 1:50 p.m.; they placed seventh and ninth, respectively, in this event last year. Moving up in distance will be the 800m with Alex Whittaker and Cameron Wyman. Wyman finished All-Ivy in the 800m last year, so he will be a Bulldog to keep an eye on this season. After the 800m will be the 1,000m hosting a face-off between Will Laird, James Lewis, Austin Stoner and Kohl Swift. Laird and Stoner proved last cross country season that they have the stamina for longer races, while Lewis and Swift tend to rely on their speed in shorter races – all four of these athletes meeting in the 1,000m should make for an interesting race. 

Ekrem Ayhan, Gregory Campbell, Jr., Macauley, Vaughns and Zuccaro will speed things up again with the 200m dash, set to begin at 2:35 p.m. Campbell placed third in this event last year, while Macauley ended up earning All-Ivy honors for it at the end of last season. The Bulldogs' long distance squad of Nick Dahl, Jonathan Lomogda, Robert Miranda, Brendan Murray, Evan Pattinelli and Patrick Perry will link up for the 3,000m run, the longest event of the day. Dahl is the returning champion in this event, having run 8:37.85 to start the season last year.

The two relay events will conclude the meet, beginning with the 4x800m relay at 3:20 p.m. Siegler, Laird, Sadler and Smith will comprise the 4x800m relay squad, a combination we have not seen out of the Bulldogs yet. Following them will be the 4x400m relay, the final event of the day, set to field three separate Bulldog teams. The Bulldogs' A-team will consist of Juma Sei, Ayhan, Campbell and Hill; the B-team will feature Burnett-Small, Chapman, Young and Zuccaro; the C-team will be comprised of Lewis, Stoner, Swift and Whittaker.

Live results will be available here, with a live stream available for purchase here. Final results and a recap will be posted after the meet has concluded.


Report by Zachary Capello '19, Yale Sports Publicity