Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale to Host Harvard at Home

CJ McCord (photo by Steve Musco)
CJ McCord (photo by Steve Musco)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale men's track and field team will host Ivy League rivals Harvard at the Dewitt Cuyler Athletic Complex on Saturday, with historic implications. The Crimson bested the Bulldogs 83-78 in 2018, but the Bulldogs finished ahead of the Crimson at the 2019 Harvard-Yale-Princeton meet during the indoor season. With the two schools being such bitter rivals, excitement is sure to be on the menu this weekend.

This meet will also serve as the qualifying round for the Harvard-Yale-Oxford-Cambridge meet, in which the Harvard and Yale athletes team up against the Oxford and Cambridge athletes in England during the summer for a series of meets.

This weekend, however, the Bulldogs have their sights set on conquering the Crimson in New Haven. Action will get underway at noon with the hammer throw, set to feature Jack Dunn and Andrew Rochon. The Crimson throwers have been performing well this year, so Dunn and Rochon will be looking to compete at the peak of their abilities. Rochon will also be competing in the discus, javelin and shot put, which will take place following the hammer throw. Dunn will be joining Rochon in the Javelin.  Also at noon will be Austin Laut in the pole vault, in which he is the returning champion.

Following the women's flights of the long jump, Cody Clements, Darius Jing and Jimmy Shih will compete in the men's long jump. Shih finished second in the long jump against Harvard in 2018. Jing and Shih will also be competing in the triple jump, in which Shih is the returning champion. CJ McCord and Spencer O'Neill will be competing in the high jump, set to follow the pole vault – O'Neill won this event in 2018.

At 1:05 p.m., the 4x100m relay will go off, set to feature two Yale teams: an "A" team of Ekrem Ayhan, Kyle Macauley, Juma Sei and Vincent Vaughns; and a "B" team of Chris Colbert, Connor Hill, Alex Young and Phil Zuccaro. The Bulldogs' "A" team ran an impressive 40.95 last week, which is now ranked second in the Ivy League. At 1:25 p.m., Robert Miranda and Harrison Smith will take on the 3,000m steeplechase. Miranda debuted in this event last weekend, and ran an impressive time of 9:16.13, just outside of Yale's all-time top 15 list.

At 1:40 p.m., Zach Capello, Nick Dahl, Will Laird and Allen Siegler will race the 1500m run. Dahl and Siegler have already posted the first- and sixth-fastest times in the Ivy League, respectively, and Siegler is the defending champion from 2018. Ayhan, Colbert, Sei and Fergal Burnett Small are going to run the 400m dash at 2:10 p.m. Sei has posted the fastest time in the Ivy League so far this season of 47.67. 

At 2:25 p.m., Macauley, Vaughns, Young and Zuccaro will compete in the 100m dash. Vaughns is currently ranked fourth in the Ivy League and is nearly half of a second ahead of the Crimson's fastest runner, whom Macauley is also ranked ahead of. Following them will be Austin Stoner, Kohl Swift, Alex Whittaker and Cameron Wyman in the 800m run at 2:40 p.m. Wyman is the top returner from 2018 and is currently ranked seventh in the league with his season best of 1:52.50.

Jonathan Ascher and Jackson Chapman are geared up for the 400m hurdles, to start at 3:00 p.m.  They placed fourth and third, respectively, in 2018. At 3:15 p.m., Ayhan, Hill, Macauley, Sei, Vaughns, Young and Zuccaro will compete in the 200m dash. Ayhan and Sei are both ranked ahead of the Crimson's top runner, and are ranked third and sixth in the Ivy League, respectively, whereas Vaughns is the returning champion.

Cade Brown, Jonathan Lomogda, Brendan Murray, Evan Pattinelli and Patrick Perry will toe the line at 3:45 p.m., for the 5,000m run. This is one of the few events in which the Crimson athletes are ranked ahead of the Bulldogs' runners, but Brown and Lomogda have had promising starts to their seasons, so some upsets could be in order. The final event of the evening will be the 4x400m relay to take place at 4:10 p.m. The Bulldogs' "A" team will consist of Ayhan, Hill, Macauley and Sei; the "B" team will be comprised of Siegler, Stoner, Swift and Wyman. The Bulldogs have already run 3:17.06 this season, which ranks them sixth in the league, without the help of Ayhan and Sei, their top long sprinters.

Live results will be made available through – a link will be posted to the schedule once it is available. A recap will be posted following the meet.

Report by Zachary Capello '19, Yale Sports Publicity