Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Don Tonry (Photo by Philipp Arndt '16)
Don Tonry (Photo by Philipp Arndt '16)

Since the 1973-74 season, a year after women's sports became a part of Yale Athletics, women's gymnastics has been the most successful male or female program.

Yale has captured 15 Ivy titles, has twice finished among the country's top-10 teams and has sent numerous gymnasts to the NCAA Championships. The team has won two ECAC Team Titles as well as accumluated 2017 ECAC Head Coach of the Year, 2018 ECAC Assistant Coach of the Year and 2018 USA Gymnastics National Head Coach of the Year. 

Twelve Yale gymnasts have won all-around Ivy titles -- Gail Rothschild (1977), Caren Silver (1979), Mindy Rosenbaum (1983, 1985), Jen Spiegel (1986), Tracy Lassin (1987-89), Tasha Taylor (1992), Erin Murphy (1993), Anna Mitescu (1995), Jamie Green (2001), Kathryn Fong (2003), Anne McPherson (2005), Alina Liao (2006, 2008-09), and Brigitte Kivisto (2011) -- while Lisa Hamlin (1978) earned All-America recognition after finishing second in the balance beam at the 1978 national meet. In 1999 Taylor and Rosenbaum were selected to the Ivy League Silver Anniversary Honor Roll.

Yale gymnasts also excel in the classroom. The team was named National Academic Champion by the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches for having the highest grade point average for the 1992-93 season. Yale had a combined 3.53 GPA. In addition, Rosenbaum became the first woman ever at Yale to win the Francis Gordon Brown Prize for excellence in academics and athletics, and in 1993, Tasha Taylor was named to the GTE/CoSIDA District I Academic All-America team. Taylor also was presented with Nellie Eliott Award as the outstanding senior athlete at Yale. In 1996, Anna Mitescu, the 1995 Gordon Brown recipient, won an NCAA post graduate scholarship and was an academic All-America selection. Courtney McIlduff was awarded a graduate scholarship to study in Scotland, and Melanie Sanford '96 was a 2011 MacArthur Fellow.