Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Team Awards Announced

Team Awards Announced

Four Bulldogs Honored

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Yale women's soccer team held its annual post season banquet on Tuesday night. Four team awards were presented and seniors Lillian BitnerGeneva DeckerKarina KovalcikColleen McCormack and Dani Temares were honored for their outstanding contributions to the program over the last four years.

Freshman Aerial Chavarin was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year. Chavarin became the fifth Yale player to earn Ivy League Rookie of the Year recognition after leading the Bulldogs with nine goals, five assists and 23 points. Her nine goals were the most by any freshman in the league and were tied for the third most overall, while her 23 points were third in the league.

Junior Carlin Hudson earned Defensive Player of the Year recognition. Hudson, who was named second team All-Ivy, returned to Yale's lineup this fall after suffering a season-ending injury in the first game of her sophomore year. She anchored a Yale defense that posted three shutouts, and she played 1,483 out of a possible 1,502 minutes on the backline.

Freshman Noelle Higginson received the Captain's Cup. She appeared in 12 games and finished with three points (1 goal, 1 assist).

The Most Improved Player Award was presented to McCormack, this year's team captain. McCormack started all 16 games on defense after starting four times in her junior year.

The Bulldogs improved their overall win total by two from a year ago and had three more points in Ivy play than last fall.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity